How to change the group type

A group type can be changed from the Edit Group page only for the groups that do not have any users assigned to:

chat room change group type

 

If a group has users assigned to, then you need to edit each user’s limits. In Groups listing page, you can see the number of users assigned to a group:

chat room user assigned to group

Click on the number to view all the users assigned to the group.

You will land on Users listing page. Click on the username of each member in order to edit the users’ details.

 

On Edit user page you can manage the limits and permissions of each user:

chat room user assigned to group

 

Once the page opens, you can edit the groups the user is assigned to:

chat room user assigned to group

1. Here you can see the available groups from the system

Note: in order to assign the user to a new group, click on the desired group and then on the greater-than sign – “>”, to move the group in the right column

2. Here you can see the groups the users is already assigned to

Note: in order to unassign the user to a new group, click on the desired group and then on the less-than sign – “<“, to move the group in the left column

3. Use the signs to assign or unassign the user to a group

4. Click here to save the details

 

Once each user from the group is unassigned from that group, the admin can edit the group type, from Edit group page.